The Rule of Thirds

Just a tiny post to share with you the rule of thirds during Ramadan, which I’m finding to be true over and over again.  Right before Ramadan, a Muslim friend of mine shared with me a forwarded message with the top ten things to remember for Ramadan.  (Funny that what seems like the most serious of things is still accompanied by swarms of chain mail.)  My favorite rule went as follows:

Eat, drink, and be moderate.  Stick to the Prophetic rule on eating: fill our stomachs with one-third food, one-third water and one-third breathing space, even in Ramadan.

Ramadan or not, I’d say this is a great rule to remember.  I of all people know how hard it is to convince yourself not to eat the other half of your sandwich and to save it for later, or not to get dessert this time around.  But the few times during Ramadan that I’ve filled my stomach with 4/5 food and 3/5 drink, I’ve realized that the -2/5 breathing space just ain’t gonna cut it.  Tonight for example.  I ate way too much food.  And now I feel uncomfortably hot and tired.  Ick.  So there you have it… just another good life lesson, from me and Ramadan to you.

2 thoughts on “The Rule of Thirds

  1. Pingback: My Quest for a Healthier Lifestyle « Life After LVC

Leave a Reply

