What a Drag!

Who knew that Halloween in DC is such an event?!  I certainly didn’t.  When my friend John messaged me at work last Tuesday to ask if I was interested in seeing a Drag Race, I had no idea what he meant, but I was sure it was something like NASCAR…and no, I wasn’t interested.  But when he quickly added that it was a big deal in DC – some might say the event of the year, I wanted more information.  Turns out that it is an annual event – every Tuesday before Halloween – in which people dress in drag and race down the street in high heels.  Whoa.  It sounded so bizarre and so wonderful that although I had worked all day and it was cold and windy and I was tired and hungry, I knew I had to go.  It was one of the weirdest experiences of my life.  Thousands of spectators lined 17th St in DC for this event.  The “race” is only 2 blocks in length and takes about 2 minutes.  But the event starts two to three hours prior to the race; hundreds of people dressed in drag strut their stuff up and down the lined street as people hoot and holler and snap tons and tons of photos.  (Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera with me, but I’m including some shots from other photographers.)  Some people were just dressed as drag queens, while others took on themes and various costumes; someone even dressed up as the Washington Monument (with boobs)!  Of course, as with all things at this time of year, politics were heavily addressed.  I saw a few Sarah Palin’s, and all of them were yelling, “Vote for Obama!”.  Good ole DC.  Princess Di even came out for the event with a whole herd of security guards.  Well done.  Sometimes it was hard to tell if the people were in drag or if they were actual celebrities.  For example, Mayor Fenty – the DC mayor – was ACTUALLY there, looking good as always.  <sigh>  (Check out video footage of the Drag Race.)

Back to the Bon House… We celebrated Halloween by hosting a party for all the LVC houses plus whoever else was around that we deemed cool enough to attend.  We decided to turn our creepy basement into a haunted house.  I’d say it was a big success.  I can’t say I’ve ever put this much energy and excitement into Halloween before.  I was always the farmer or hobo or army woman – you know, the costumes you can scrounge up in your house.  This year, we collaborated as a house for a Wizard of Oz theme, and I was the courage-less lion!  Quite a night, followed by a pancake breakfast.  Can’t get much better than that!

But it’s suddenly November and time is flying, and there are so many more songs to dance to!  We must keep moving.

Leave a Reply

