Tourist Time

It’s another new year once again.  2008 came and went and I’m not even sure what I have to show for it!  I guess some good things happened.  Nordic J-Tour 2008 – full of sickness and four-square, presenting at the National Convention of Undergraduate Research, my senior art show/lecture recital, a summer of SITs at Mar-Lu Ridge, and lots of new experiences in Washington, DC.  Did I miss anything?

Even though I’ve been in DC since August, my housemates and I deliberately held off on the museum thing for awhile because of tourist season.  Well, with a few days off from work with time to chill in DC, I’ve decided that it’s high time to see a few things.  Yesterday, I spent almost 3 hours in the Holocaust Museum.  Not exactly the most cheerful way to spend New Years Day, but I’ve wanted to go for a long time.  It was moving, though I must say that it built off of experiences I’ve had touring concentration camps in Europe.  I really think it’s necessary to go to Germany, Poland, etc and witness these places for yourself.  It’s not quite the same to see a recasting of the “Arbeit Macht Frei” (Work Makes you Free) iron gate as it is to actually go to Auschwitz and see the real deal.  All in all, it was an important museum to see, so I’m glad I did it.  I went by myself… I think I needed that.

Today, it occurred to me that I have never seen the White House, even though I work 6 blocks away!  I decided I can’t have that anymore, so I put my foot down and went.  The initial view looked something like this:

img_2929

It somehow slipped my mind that lots of construction might be going on to prepare for Inauguration.  Exciting!  Luckily, it’s still possible to get a little closer, so the view improved and I was ultimately glad I went.

img_2941

I followed my trip with a stop at McDonald’s.  I know, I know…but it just sounded too good to pass up!  Tomorrow will be the National Art Gallery with my friend Jana… it’s just getting better every day!

I suppose I should catch everyone up on my job now that I have a new supervisor!  Maybe tomorrow after the gallery…

I hope everyone’s Christmas was merry and bright!

Leave a Reply

