The Best Day (Ever)

Ok, so I know that I often say it’s the best day ever.  And I know that really, there’s only supposed to be ONE “best day ever,” or else it defeats the purpose of being the best.  But today was the best day ever.  Ok, maybe not ever… but it was for sure a best day.

Why?  I’m so glad you asked.  It’s just that two of my favorite things have combined to create something wonderful.  Here’s the story:

It just so happened that today, after work, I needed to get my car out of its parking spot and drop something off at my house (confusing, I know – my parking spot is about 6 blocks away from my apartment).  By the time I dropped the thing off, it would conveniently be 5:30pm – the time Allison gets off of work.  It not only occurred to me that I could pick her up and drive to Rita’s to get some water ice…it really seemed like it was meant to be.  I haven’t had Rita’s in months.  And if you know anything about me, you know that I love Rita’s.

If you know anything else about me, it’s probably that I also love Fox 5 Local News.  It is just so bad.  Some people stay up late to watch the Jay Leno Show for a good laugh.  I stay up so I can watch Fox 5 for a good laugh.  The reporters are incredibly awkward, the footage is horrible, and there are occasional misspellings such as my recent fave – a banner across the bottom half of the screen that said in all caps: STOMRY WEATHER.

Never in my wildest dreams would I have thought to combine Rita’s and Fox 5 News, but it happened.  When we arrived at Rita’s (the one on Rhode Island Ave, of course), we noticed a new sign hanging that said “Check out our celebrity specials!”  I looked closer, expecting to see something about Brad Pitt or at least Mayor Fenty.  Instead, it was a list of Fox 5 News Reporters’ favorite drinks at Rita’s!!!  Without hesitation, I ordered the “Fox 5 Fruit Explosion.”  And yes, I had a big smile on my face when I asked for that.

Hey, after all…Rita’s does advertise that they service ice, custard, and happiness!  It was just too good that I knew I had to share the joy.  The other good news is that we DC residents can now enjoy Rita’s year-round at the new Chinatown location….which, by the way, is serving my favorite flavor – raspberry – which Rita’s stopped serving years ago.  Err…maybe my new favorite is the Fox 5 Fruit Explosion…F5FE if you’re cool.

5 thoughts on “The Best Day (Ever)

  1. Amanda…you are just too cute. if you don’t go into the ministry or music
    (or some combination thereof), you should seriously consider writing. I love reading your blog posts on here and on your dad’s Caringbridge.com

    Ok, go back and finish your fruit explosion now. 😉

  2. First of all, I want to note that when I went to write a comment, for some reason I was logged in as you. I could’ve done a lot of damage with that moment of power (being you), but I chose not to. For that I feel you should commend me – or at least buy me something really cool. 🙂

    Second of all, I don’t EVER want to hear you say that I’m the queen of hyperbole ever again. You are just like me, my friend.

    I wish I had a third of all because it seems like I should, but I’m really stumped. So that’s all. I love you. You’re the greatest! 🙂

Leave a Reply

