This is the Song

Merry Christmas and Happy 2011!

What better way to bring in the new year than a dose of childhood!  Unfortunately, my childhood was not your typical batch of cartoons and barbies.  You see, I am the youngest of three children, and when I was the bright age of six-ish and capable of requesting to watch Sesame Street, my brother Jeff and sister Erin made me watch MTV instead.  I could probably write an essay on how this affected the fantastically  flirty person I’ve become, but for today, I’ll just stick with one simple realization – while my desires to watch MTV have now been (mostly) fulfilled, I have a huge hole in my being that is just waiting to be filled with Elmo, Big Bird, Cookie Monster, and… maybe even a little room for Oscar the Grouch.

Lucky for me, I have a 2-month old niece who can share my newfound love for Sesame Street.  And somehow, my sister is in on it all too now.  Since I’ve been out in Cali visiting this Christmas, we have had a daily ritual of singing the Elmo Song.  (What is it with us and our daily rituals???)  If you’re not familiar with this song, you’re about to be.  You may hate it at first, but trust me… it will be stuck in your head, and it grows on you!  Check out how much Kaia loves it:

In all seriousness, the Elmo Song really is great.  I know this doesn’t really compare, but for Christmas, since I couldn’t justify spending money on a baby who is totally unaware, I wrote Kaia a lullaby.  The idea came to me when I first got to spend time with her in October.  I was on wake-up-in-the-middle-of-the-night-to-feed-the-baby duty, and while I rocked Kaia, I started humming something.  I always have a melody in my head, but this time I thought it was sort of decent.  Maybe I should write this down, I thought at four in the morning.  Nah, I decided, if it’s that good, I’ll remember it when I wake up.  And sure enough, it stuck with me.  So it became Kaia’s Lullaby.  And so, for your listening pleasure as a complement to the Elmo Song… I present to you “Kaia’s Lullaby”:  

More joyful stories to come!  I hope you all had a wonderful holiday celebration.  Check out some Weber/Jowers Christmas photos here.

2 thoughts on “This is the Song

  1. kids are such a great “excuse” to revisit childhood 😉 glad you were able to go visit for Christmas 🙂 LOVE the song!!! did you do all the music for it? do you have Ben Larson’s cd that includes a song written for his nephew? enjoy the rest of your time with family! I pray you all have a happy and blessed New Year! oh, and thanks for the Christmas card 🙂

  2. Amanda, we totally sang this like everyday at Bright Beginnings! Well, not every verse, but one of them. The kids loved it! Looks like you’re a wonderful aunt to Kaia… glad you had a good time in CA! 🙂 Best wishes for 2011 from Iowa!

Leave a Reply

