Part Time Part One

manda35After months of sending applications into what has seemed to be a black hole, I finally have some news to report: yesterday, I accepted the position as Choir Director of the Greater Hartford Academy of the Arts – an arts magnet high school in Hartford, CT!  It is a part time position that includes benefits, so I am blessed and in a good position, but also continuing to look for Part Time Part Two (which will probably end up being a church job of some sort).  I have also signed on to a two-bedroom apartment just off of Main St. in Middletown, CT – halfway between New Haven and Hartford.  So, dear Yale friends, I will not be so far away next year after all!

This news is all quite, well, new.  I have never taught high school.  I have never really taught much at all, as most of my choral conducting thus far has been in church settings.  I also have no experience with magnet schools (did those even exist when I went to high school?!), so I feel both nervous and excited for what lies ahead.  I will be teaching music theory to freshmen, a choir of 10-12th graders, vocal techniques for lower levels, and starting an a cappella group among other things!  This part-time position is M-F, 1-4:15pm.  I imagine I’ll spend every morning planning and freaking out.

Even the living arrangement is new.  This will be the first time I have ever lived by myself!  Middletown is a new place for me, but reminds me of an old one – Decorah, IA (where I went to college).  For this reason, it warms my heart.  There is a cute Main Street, a river running through town, and Wesleyan College keeps some young people around and events happening.  Beginning Aug 2, my new address will be:

Amanda Weber
175 College St.
Middletown, CT 06457

As has often happened in my life, I’m taking a turn that I didn’t anticipate.  And I’m trusting that it’s taking me in the right direction.

I sincerely hope that, now that I’ve made it through my grueling graduate program, I can be better about keeping in touch!  I would, of course, welcome letters or even visits to Middletown (which is not far from the Hartford airport).  I also hope to be writing another post soon with news of more part time work…keep your fingers crossed for me.  Thank you to all for prayers and good thoughts which have brought me this far on the way.

2 thoughts on “Part Time Part One

  1. Such good news. It does sound exciting. Maybe you will enjoy teaching music and directing high schoolers as much as Krista likes teaching science and math to high schoolers. Thanks for sharing the wonderful news. We wish you all the best in this new adventure.
    Love,
    Aunt Ruth

  2. Pingback: Hello Middletown! | Songbird Sings

Leave a Reply

